function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Chy WelsaChy Welsa 

Cannot access community adiministration settings as administrator

Hi,

I am an administrator in a sandbox, and i have created a community without adding myself as a member. Since the release of Spring 2015:
Release notes:
"salesforce_spring15_release_notes" says "Updating Community Administration Settings Requires Community Membership" on page 13.

Hence, though i created the community and am administrator on the sandbox, i cannot access the community administration settings.

Best Answer chosen by Chy Welsa
PratikPratik (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Welsa,

Hre is the article, If you are Admin and not a member of community, how you can add yourself on community as member through API:

https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewSolution?urlname=How-do-I-add-myself-as-a-member-of-a-Community-if-the-Manage-Link-is-missing&language=en_US

Thanks,
Pratik

All Answers

Hi Chy,

Updating Community Administration Settings Requires Community Membership:
If you want to update a community’s administration settings in Community Management, you must have “Create and Set Up Communities”
permission and you must also be a member of that community.
Because the administration settings that were previously in Setup have now moved to Community Management, this requires that you
must be a member of the community whose Community Management page you are trying to access. This move means you can now
administer and manage your community in one place.

As per these changes in Spring'15, you will need to be a member of community to change settings.

The other point mentioned:

Users with “Create and Set Up Communities” permission who are not members of a community can still modify that community’s
administration settings through the API.