function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mark WilkesMark Wilkes 

Trigger to create new task or custom object record if due date is changed on an incomplete task

Hi,

I've already scoured the internet looking for an answer to this. I'm basically trying to come up with a workaround to provide field history tracking on tasks. I've found related threads with suggestions to create a trigger or workflow rule that creates a new task or object record if a field is changed. I've seen some code examples, but nothing that quite fits the bill. I also read that workflow formulas cannot trigger off the ActivityDate field (?), and that this has to be done through Apex. I'm still very new to this.

I'd like to receive notification if an incomplete task's due date is changed. This notification should include the task ID, Subject, Related to, OwnerID (or better yet, UserID of the person who updated the field), old due date value and new due date value.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Shivanath DevnarayananShivanath Devnarayanan

Hey Mark,

right now you might have to use APEX, but if you can wait for a week or two .. in spring 15 this should be available to you  (SafeHarbour)

https://success.salesforce.com/ideaView?id=08730000000BqpKAAS

Instead of building a solution in apex you can use workflows...

hope that helps
Mark WilkesMark Wilkes