function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mary PustejovskyMary Pustejovsky 

dependent picklist in Visualforce not re-rendering

Hello
I am somewhat new to VF/Apex and I've created a dependent picklist to use in Visualforce. Everything saves fine. When I go to preview, the first picklist appears correctly but the second one does not re-render once the first option is chosen. I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I have searched many boards/blogs etc and tried a couple different things. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. There are actually tons more options in my lists but I figured no one needed to see all of those to understand the issue.

Here is the VF:
<apex:page id="communitiesSelfRegPage" showHeader="true" controller="CommunitiesSelfRegController" title="{!$Label.site.user_registration}">
     <apex:define name="body">  
      <center>
<apex:form id="theForm" forceSSL="true">
                    <apex:pageMessages id="error"/>
                    <apex:panelGrid columns="2" style="margin-top:1em;">
                      <apex:outputLabel value="First Name" for="firstName"/>
                      <apex:inputText required="true" id="firstName" value="{!firstName}" label="First Name"/>
                      <apex:outputLabel value="Last Name" for="lastName"/>
                      <apex:inputText required="true" id="lastName" value="{!lastName}" label="Last Name"/>
                      <apex:outputLabel value="{!$Label.site.community_nickname}" for="communityNickname"/>
                      <apex:inputText required="true" id="communityNickname" value="{!communityNickname}" label="{!$Label.site.community_nickname}"/>
                      <apex:outputLabel value="{!$Label.site.email}" for="email"/>
                      <apex:inputText required="true" id="email" value="{!email}" label="{!$Label.site.email}"/>