function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Forcedotcom737Forcedotcom737 

Trigger Help: What do I need to do to pick up the user captured in a field (Assigned to) in a custom object (ticket) and then assign the same user as owner of a task?

I am very new to apex coding. Please see trigger below which creates a task when a ticket is raised with priority high. The trigger works except for this line : // t.Owner = Tickets__c.Assigned_To__c;

I am trying to pick up the the user to whom the ticket is assigned via field Assigned_To__c in the custom ticket object and then create a task where the owner of the task is the same user as the 'Assigned to' field captures in the ticket object.

What do I need to do to pick up the user captured in a field (Assigned to) in a custom object (ticket) and then assign the same user as owner of a task? 

Trigger compiles except for the commented line:

trigger AssignTicket on Tickets__c (after insert,after update) {

for(Tickets__c tkt : trigger.new){

if(tkt.Priority__c == 'High'){

task t = new task();

t.Subject = 'Ticket has been assigned to you!';
t.Status = 'Not Started';
t.Priority = 'Normal';
//t.Owner = Tickets__c.Assigned_To__c.;

t.WhatId = tkt.id;

insert t;
                            }

}

Best Answer chosen by Forcedotcom737
Karanraj Thx a ton for your response. It works!!
I will take the dev training that you suggest. In the meantime could you please answer a couple of questions to help me understand:

1) Ref: List<Task> listTask = new List<Task>();

Why did you create the list? The line "task t = new task() "within the for loop would create the task for every ticket.

2) t.WhatId = tkt.id; -- Could you explain what is going on in this line? I understand this as taking the id of the ticket and associate it with the id of the task thereby making the link. How would you explain this?