function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
June BischoffJune Bischoff 

Trouble accessing lookup-related custom object in a Visualforce Email Template

I'm fairly new to Visualforce.  I'm working with custom objects in a managed package, attempting to create an email template with a table of related detail rows.  My visualforce email template is set to use the custom object "Sales Order":

<messaging:emailTemplate recipientType="Contact"
    relatedToType="PBSI__PBSI_Sales_Order__c"
    subject="Order and Shipping Confirmation for PO {!relatedTo.PBSI__Customer_Purchase_Order__c}">    
<messaging:htmlEmailBody > 

And I'm trying to access a related list custom object (Shipped Sales Order Lines) that has a lookup to the Sales Order but not a master/detail relationship.  
<apex:repeat var="ssoLine" value="{!relatedTo.PBSI__Shipped_Sales_Order_Lines__r}">

I'm getting an error :   [Error] Error: Invalid field PBSI__Shipped_Sales_Order_Lines__r for SObject PBSI__PBSI_Sales_Order__c.

I've tried using {!relatedTo.PBSI__Shipped_Sales_Order_Lines__r} as well as {!relatedTo.PBSI__Shipped_Sales_Order_Line__r}, but no luck.  Will this work with a lookup field relationship, or does it need to be master-detail?  How can I find the correct API Name if it is possible with only a Lookup?  If it's not possible, do I need to go the custom component/controller route, or are there other methods to access the related data?

Thanks in advance!

Shipped Sales Order Line info:
Singular Label: Packed Sales Order Line 
Plural Label: Shipped Sales Order Lines 
Object Name: Shipped_Sales_Order_Line 
API Name: PBSI__Shipped_Sales_Order_Line__c

Lookup field on Shipped Sales Order Line
Field Label  API Name                     Installed Package   Data Type
Sales Order PBSI__Sales_Order__c Ascent4Salesforce Lookup(Sales Order)