function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Erik RodgersErik Rodgers 

how to access selectoption "value" selected

Hello. I am new to the Force.com platform and I am trying to understand how to access the "value" parameter value of the SelectedOption for the <apex:selectList> or <apex:selectOptions> components when the page is submitted. I want to access this selected value from my doSave method. I have searched the forum and see where a developer can bind a variable to the "label" for the Selected Option, but not the "value". For example, if I add the following SelectedOptions:

options.add(new SelectOption('789521','Some Category'));
options.add(new SelectOption('986521','Some Other Category'));
options.add(new SelectOption('143254','Yet Another Category'));

Then in my doSave method, I need to be able to access the value of the selected option (e.g., 986521) - not the label (Some Other Category) - for processing. The label was only useful for displaying to the user, not for processing (as the value I placed in the SelectOption is actually a key in an external system with which we integrate). Since we pass this value as part of the constructor for SelectOption, I would only assume there is some way to access it when submitted server-side. I would greatly appreciate any help the community can provide. Thanks!

Best Answer chosen by Erik Rodgers
Erik RodgersErik Rodgers