function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Forrest MulduneForrest Muldune 

Apex Trigger on Opportunitites

All,

I would appreciate some help on an Apex Trigger I am trying to create on Opportunities. I am kind of new in Apex trigger coding so I would really appreciate your help.

Below are objects with the following fields

Settlement__c  (custom Object)
  • Recovery_Total__c  - Formula (Currency) field with formula -  Initial_Value__c - Book_Value__c 
Matter__c (custom Object)
  • Total_Fees__c - Currency(16, 2) field 
Opportunities
  • Settlement_Recovery_Total__c - Currency(16, 2) field
  • Engagement_Total_Fees__c - Currency(16, 2) field 
There is a lookup relationship from Settlement__c  to Opportunities and another lookup relationship from Matter__c  to Opportunities.

What I was trying to figure out is how to sum the total records from the Total_Fees__c  field in Matter__c into the Settlement_Recovery_Total__c in Opportunities . Also sum the total records from the Recovery_Total__c  in Settlement__c  to the Settlement_Recovery_Total__c in Opportunities.

These total sums are for related records only between the objects.

Once this trigger is created, I will have a better understanding of creating other cross object triggers in the future.

I would really appreciate your help.
KevinPKevinP
Forrest,

I'm all for helping you learn to write triggers, but i think it'd be best if I didn't actually write the code for you. So let me ask you some guided questions and we'll see if we can get this written today? Sound good? Great.

Fist off, let me thank you for providing the detail you ahve in your original post. Thats fantastic. 

Now for the questions: