function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Priyanka PundirPriyanka Pundir 

Using trigger, how to update record from one related list to other when both the related list point to same object.

The scenario is, I have one object called equipment whose child object is A(related list), and their is another object called Outage under which I can see the related list of object A but it is renamed as B.
Outage and Equipment share a lookup relation.

the requirement is to update the records on B when any record on related list A, is updated ,and when the equipment record is open.
I am new to Apex, please help.
sandeep sankhlasandeep sankhla
Hi Priyanka,

As per my understanding it is somthing like..

A-->   Outage --  Equipment   <-- B

So in this case if we update the B then we can get Equipment Id and then we can get Outage also..From outage we can update it's related A..

But what if there are more than 1 A related to outage in this , do we need to update all A or specific one based on some creteria...or there will be only 1 A related to Outage..

Same Applies with B ..if there are more than one B then which B should be realted to which A..

Plese confirm the above points so I can help you out...

Thanks,
Sandeep
Hi Sandeep,

Thanks for the response.
Basically, When an outage is created and if there are 5 records in A which is under equipment, then those 5 records should get created under Outage in B. This functionality is implemented already.
Now, on update, if any record in A under Equipment gets updated i want that same record to get updated on B under Outage. The update should be one directional i.e from A of Equipment to B of Outage. I am not sure how to do that because A and B are same, it just that A is renamed to B under Outage( A and B are related lists). Hope it helped.

Thanks,
Priyanka

Hi Priyanka,