function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Cindy NormanCindy Norman 

Total newbie question - value from inputField not reflected in my custom object

Hi-I'm sure this is a no-brainer for all of you guys but i'm having trouble with this. I'll be general because i'm not sure what part of my code is messed up.

I have some apex:inputFields that display data from a custom object- this works fine

<apex:outputLabel value="Number of Dependents on Application" styleClass="inputFieldLabelStyle"/>
                 <apex:inputfield value="{!application.numberOfDependents__c }" styleClass="inputFieldStyle"/>
              </apex:pageBlockSectionItem>
AND a button that fires correctly when the user clicks it:

<apex:commandButton value="Save and Continue" style="width:180px;" action="{!SaveApp}" immediate="true" rerender="ApplicationSubTabPanel,showmsgs"/>
And the method defined in the controller:
    public PageReference SaveApp() 
    {
        try {        
                upsert(application);
        } catch(System.DMLException e) {      ....       }
        return null; //tells VF to refresh page.    
    }//end PageReference SaveApp()

Pretty easy stuff. But the values never get saved in the DB. Any silliness that i have overlooked? an "onchange" or ?

Thank you!!
kaustav goswamikaustav goswami
You have specified the attribute immediate = true in the command button. This will tell the control to stop looking at the values present in the page and go to the method in the controller immediately. Please remove that and try. If you have placed the immediate = true attribute to serve some different purpose like bypassing other validations then you will have to take a different approach. Please let me know.

Thanks,
Kaustav
Varun PareekVarun Pareek