function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AntjeAntje 

Trigger Help Needed - Across multiple objects

Hi Everybody,
I could use some help on my trigger. I am trying to copy some fields from two standard objetcs into one custom object (dataTable). I am trying to copy several fields from Opportunities as well as some fields from Tasks (if the task is related to opportunity) into my custom object. I am new to apex and could really use some help. I figured out one part of the equation but I am not sure how I would include a trigger that works on the second object. The end result should be that all the fields from both objects are in th same record. I am pretty sure I will need to use SOQL but I can't seem to find exactly what I need. Here is what I got so far. THANK YOU

Trigger AutoDT on Task (after insert,after update) {
List <DataTable__c> newdt = new List <DataTable__c> ();
for (Task t : Trigger.new) {
DataTable__c dts = new DataTable__c ();
dts.TaskSubject__c = t.subject;
dts.TaskStatus__c = t.status;
dts.TaskPriority__c = t.priority;
dts.TaskComments__c = t.Description;

dts.taskDateTaskAssigned__c = t.date_task_assigned__c;
dts.TaskDueDate__c = t.ActivityDate;

newdt.add (dts);
}
insert newdt;
}
sandeep@Salesforcesandeep@Salesforce
Hi Antje, 

You have mentioned that you need to copy data from two different objects in sngle obj but you have not mentioned on which operation you want to do it. IF you want it on both different object's insert/update or any other manupulation then you need to write trigger on these two objects separately. 

OR if you have any relationship among these three objects then we can think in that way so please finalize that event then it would be very easy to execute it in same SOQL execution.

Thanks
Sandeep Singhal
AntjeAntje
Hi Sandeep,