function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AntjeAntje 

SOQL/apex Trigger

Hello,
I could use some help on my trigger. I am trying to copy some fields from two standard objetcs into one custom object (dataTable__c). I am trying to copy several fields from Opportunities as well as some fields from Tasks (if the task is related to opportunity) into my custom object. Tasks has a lookup realtionship to opportunities (related to = what). My custom object has a master detail relationship to opportunity (opporunityName1__c). 
I am new to apex and would really appreciate your help. I figured out one part of the equation but I am not sure how I would include a trigger that works on the second object. I don't want to have two seperate triggers working seperately .The end result should be that all the fields from both objects are in th same record. I am pretty sure I will need to use SOQL but I can't seem to find exactly what I need. Here is what I got so far. THANK YOU

Trigger AutoDT on Task (after insert,after update) {
List <DataTable__c> newdt = new List <DataTable__c> ();
for (Task t : Trigger.new) {
DataTable__c dts = new DataTable__c ();
dts.TaskSubject__c = t.subject;
dts.TaskStatus__c = t.status;
dts.TaskPriority__c = t.priority;
dts.TaskComments__c = t.Description;

dts.taskDateTaskAssigned__c = t.date_task_assigned__c;
dts.TaskDueDate__c = t.ActivityDate;

newdt.add (dts);
}
insert newdt;
}
Best Answer chosen by Antje
Pankaj_GanwaniPankaj_Ganwani
Hi Antje,

Trigger.new always shows the list of new version of sobject records(which are inserted, undeleted or just before update). Now, you have created a trigger on after insert and after update, so you can do following iteration on trigger.new(list of inserted Task object records).

Set<Id> setOppId = new Set<Id>();//declare a set in trigger to store the opp ids related to Task