function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Zach DelacroixZach Delacroix 

Help with Trigger Logic

Hi guys!

I'm working on a trigger and stuck on one logic and I'm wondering if someone here can help. I'm a newbie and still exploring things here. What my trigger does is that it updates the Job Record's Hourly Rate with the Rate Card's Hourly rate.

So basically, if the Job matches the Rate Card on the associated Job Account based on the Type field, then get the hourly rate of Rate card and update the Job's Hourly Rate if the Rate Card that matches is Active. Please See image below.

User-added image

My Trigger is working correctly but here's another logic I want to add.

Notice that Account can have multiple rate cards with the Same Type.. Example is RC-0000 and RC-0013 has the same type which is 'A' but different Hourly Rate.. What I would like to do is that, if there are rate cards in the Job's associated account that has same type, then I'd like the value to be Null.

Can anyone please give me an Idea?

Here's my code to start with.

public with sharing class JobTriggerHandler {

Public void UpdateHourlyRate(List<Job__c> Jobs){

//Hold Account ID
        Set<Id> accID = new Set<Id>();

//Populate accID with the Jobs Account ID to be used in Query
        For(Job__c Job: Jobs){accID.add(Job.Account__c);}

Map<String,Rate_Card__c> RateCardMap = new Map<String,Rate_Card__c>();

//Populate RateCardMap with Rate cards where the account is equal to Job's Account and is Active
        For(Rate_Card__c RateCards : [SELECT Id, Name, Hourly_Rate__c, Active__c, Type__c, Account__c
                                      FROM Rate_Card__c
                                      WHERE Account__c IN: AccID
                                      AND Active__c = True]){

RateCardMap.put(RateCards.Account__c+RateCards.Type__c, RateCards);