function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jeff DeckerJeff Decker 

Custom Related Task List in custom object

Hi All,

I'm new to visualforce and trying satisfiy the Business on a new requirement that doesn't seem to be standard functionality in Salesforce.  I have a new object called Quality__c and I'm trying to show open Tasks within different sections of this object based on a custom field that is on the Task.  So for a record in the Quality__c Object there will be a section that is only going to show related Tasks that have an Activity_Type__c = 'Validation'

Here is my Visualforce page:
<apex:page standardController="Quality__c" extensions="SampleDetailPageCon">
    <apex:form >
        <apex:pageMessages />
        <apex:detail relatedList="true"></apex:detail>
        <apex:pageBlock id="customList" title="RelatedTasks">
            <apex:pageblocktable value="{!taskz}" var="o">
                <apex:column value="{!o.subject}"/>
                <apex:column value="{!o.ActivityDate}"/>
                <apex:column value="{!o.Status}"/>
                <apex:column value="{!o.Activity_Type__c}"/>
            </apex:pageblocktable>
        </apex:pageBlock>

</apex:form>
</apex:page>

Here is my Apex controller:
public class SampleDetailPageCon {

private List<Task> taskz;
    private Quality__c qual;

public SampleDetailPageCon(ApexPages.StandardController controller) {

this.qual = (Quality__c)controller.getRecord();
    }

public List<Task> getTaskz() {

taskz = [SELECT Id, Subject, ActivityDate, Activity_Type__c, Status from Task where Status = 'Open' and Activity_Type__c = 'Validation'];
        return taskz;
    }
}