function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JonWuJonWu 

How do you use cross-object references in flow?

I'm just getting started with flow, but I'm very experienced with Apex and VisualForce so many concepts are familiar to me. However, I'm having trouble understanding how cross-object field references (https://help.salesforce.com/HTViewHelpDoc?id=vpm_designer_crossobject_reference.htm&language=en_US) are supposed to work.

Problem
How do I use cross-object references in screens or conditions?

If I use a cross object reference in a screen such as {!order.Customer__r.Name}, I don't see anything. If I try and query a field like Customer__r.Name in a Fast Lookup, validation fails and the name gets erased. Likewise, if I try to use something like {!order.Customer__r.Name} in a decision, validation fails and that reference is erased.

Scenario
I have a custom object called Order__c with a lookup called Customer__c which points to an Account. In other words, Order__r.Customer__c is an Account Id.

What's the easiest way to display a screen with the order name and the customer's name?

What I tried
1. Create a Fast Lookup to get the Order__c that assigns to a variable called order and fetches the order's Name. If I try to add Customer__r.Name to fields, the value doesn't validate and gets erased. Therefore, I just query Customer__c (an account Id) as the help article seems to imply I need to do.
2. I create a screen and try to reference {!order.Customer__r.Name} and I see nothing. The article seems to imply that Salesforce might magically query the needed but missing info, but that doesn't seem to work.