function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tim AndrewsTim Andrews 

Help with simple cross-object field update trigger

Hello all, I am new to Apex and am trying to do a simple field update between two custom objects; I looked through other posts and tried to model mine on the others I saw, but I'm getting stuck. In a nutshell, when a date is entered into the Date_Received__c field on the Invoices__c object, that date should be written to the Invoice_Received_Date__c field on the Work_Products__c object. Work_Products__c is linked to Invoices__c via a lookup relationship. Below is the code I have written:

trigger DateReceivedUpdate on Invoices__c (before insert, before update){

List<ID> WorkProductIds = New List<ID>();

for(Invoices__c a : Trigger.new){
   if(a.Date_Received__c != null){
     WorkProductIds.add(a.Work_Product_Name__c);
   }
  }         
  List<Invoices__c> WorkProductsList = [SELECT id, Date_Received__c FROM Invoices__c WHERE id in :WorkProductIds];

Map<id,Invoices__c> mInvtoWP = New Map<id,Invoices__c>();

for(Work_Products__c p : trigger.new)
     mInvtoWP.put(p.Invoice_Received_Date__c, p);

for(integer i = 0 ; i < WorkProductList.size(); i++){
      WorkProductsList[i].Work_Products__c = mInvtoWP.get(WorkProductsList[i].ID).Invoices__c;
    }

update WorkProductsList;
}

Any help that I can get would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
SlashApex (Luis Luciani)SlashApex (Luis Luciani)
Hi Tim,

If you have access to the Process Builder, you should use that instead of a trigger. I believe your requirements can be accomplished using Process Builder and therefore avoid using code.

That being said, here is how you would accomplish it with a trigger. I am making a few assumptions since you did not provide this information.
  • Invoice is the parent object and Work Products is the child object.