function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Gabriel Corrêa de OliveiraGabriel Corrêa de Oliveira 

Poor performance of Salesforce without any customization

I am very new to Salesforce and the first thing I noticed about the platform was its poor performance.

Clearly it's not a Web 2.0 application since full page reloads are the standard navigation mechanism.
Load times of 5s, 10s, or even 15s are common in my company's day-to-day usage of Salesforce.

I've heard excuses saying that it's because our "org" is overloaded with data. So, I decided to create a developer account and see how Salesforce behaves with a brand new empty "org". As a result, I couldn't be more disappointed.

I clicked through the standard tabs like Accounts, Contacts, and Leads, which all take several seconds to load empty.

Then I analyzed some of these pages with Google Chrome's Page Speed tool which found a myriad of performance issues like:
  • Avoid Redirects 
    • (L)Minimize redirects
  • Reduce blocking resources 
    • (M)Inline Small JavaScript, (L)Optimize the order of styles and scripts
  • Minimize payload 
    • (H)Combine images into CSS sprites, (L)Serve resources from a consistent URL, (L)Minify JavaScript, (L)Minify CSS, (L)Minify HTML, (L)Optimize images
  • Minimize delay in page load 
    • (H)Minimize request size, (L)Avoid bad requests, (L)Specify image dimensions, (L)Put CSS in the document head
  • Other 
    • (H)Defer parsing of JavaScript, (L)Remove query strings from static resources, (L)Specify a Vary: Accept-Encoding header

As a confirmation, I also ran YSlow, from Yahoo, against them, and got only C as an average grade.