function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ramanjot SidhuRamanjot Sidhu 

How to map a field from child object to parent object using a trigger

Trigger Not Working

I have two objects: Opportunity (Parent),  Sponsorship Offer(Line_item__c) (Child)
On the Opportunity object there is a standardpicklist field called "Stage (StageName), and there is a custom field on the Sponsorship Offer page called Stage (Stage__c) with the same picklist. When an individual goes on to the Opportunity page, and tries to change the Stage, if the value is not equal to the Sponsorship Offer field "Stage", then I want to produce an error.. My trigger is not working. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to apex.

Compile Error: Variable does not exist: o.StageName at line 7 column 8

trigger UpdateStage on Opportunity (before update) {
    List<Line_item__c> opportunitywithsponsorshipoffer = [SELECT Opportunity__r.id, Opportunity__r.StageName 
    from Line_item__c where Line_item__c.Opportunity__c <> Null];

for (Opportunity o: opportunitywithsponsorshipoffer);
       for(Line_item__c li : o.li){
       o.StageName = li.Stage__c;
    if(o.StageName <> null){//If the opportunity stage name is not the same as the Sponsorship Offer stage name present error message 
         o.StageName = Line_item__c.Stage__c;
     } else {
      o.adderror ('Cannot track Stage on Opportunity page, please refer to the related Sponsorship Offer page');
     } //close for loop
     }// close for if statement
     }// close trigger
Best Answer chosen by Ramanjot Sidhu
Vivek DeshmaneVivek Deshmane
Hi,
Please try below code and it should work.
     List<Line_item__c> opportunitywithsponsorshipoffer = [SELECT Opportunity__r.id, Opportunity__r.StageName 
        from Line_item__c where Line_item__c.Opportunity__c IN :Trigger.NewMap.keyset()];