function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AntjeAntje 

Disable Trigger

Hi,
I am new to the devolper side. So please be patient with me :)
I currently have two triggeres in production that do what they were designed to do. However, I will need to make some modifications to them, as they are screwing other things up. I know that I will have to use my sandbox for this but I can't seem to figure out how to deactive/disable them without deleting the triggers. I appreciate your help. Thanks
Best Answer chosen by Antje
Amit Chaudhary 8Amit Chaudhary 8
If you want to deploy inactive trigger in prod then you need to change code coverage first.

All Answers

Hi Antje,

Please check below post. I hope that will help u:-
How do I disable a Trigger in a production environment?
https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewSolution?id=000005417&language=en_US (https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewSolution?id=000005417&language=en_US)

Important: You must consider the consequences of disabling a trigger in the production environment during work hours. It is highly recommended to perform this work outside normal business hours and to disable access to the application to non administrators during the maintenance period.

Follow these steps:
Disable the trigger on the sandbox environment
Create a new project in Eclipse using the Sandbox and including the trigger (or refresh your existing Eclipse project)
Alternative: edit the triggername.trigger-meta.xml in an existing project and change the status node to false: <status>Inactive</status>
Save the change locally
Deploy the trigger to productionComplete the data loadIf the change is not permanent or you want to enable the trigger again then enable the trigger by making it active on the sandbox or project again and deploy it to production