function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Stephen BundaStephen Bunda 

Trigger to populate Account lookup based on a account number.

Hi.  I'm completely new to triggers and need some help.  I want to use the Standard "Orders" object to populate orders for an account.  We are pulling in account data automatically from an external dataabase using a jitterbit integration.  We will also be feeding the order object via the same ETL tool and a different database table.  

The indexed field on the account is the "Account Number" field.  What I am trying to do is based on teh account number on the order feed is populate the account lookup with the account that matches the account number.  I would like a trigger to do this but I know nothing about writing triggers.Any help would be appreciated.
Best Answer chosen by Stephen Bunda
Neetu_BansalNeetu_Bansal
Hi Stephen,

Use the below trigger. Use your account number fields API name instead of Account_Number__c on Order and Account.
trigger OrderTrg on Order( before insert )
{
	Set<String> accountNumbers = new Set<String>();
	for( Order o : trigger.new )
	{
		if( o.Account_Number__c != null )
		{
			accountNumbers.add( o.Account_Number__c );
		}
	}

Map<String, Id> accountNumbersToAccountMap = new Map<String, Id>();
	for( Account acc : [ Select Id, Account_Number__c from Account where Account_Number__c IN: accountNumbers ])
	{
		accountNumbersToAccountMap.put( acc.Account_Number__c, acc.Id );
	}

{
		if( o.Account_Number__c != null && accountNumbersToAccountMap.containsKey( o.Account_Number__c ))
		{
			o.AccountId = accountNumbersToAccountMap.get( o.Account_Number__c );
		}
	}
}
Let me know, if you need any other help.

Thanks,
Neetu

All Answers

Neetu_BansalNeetu_Bansal
Hi Stephen,