function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Meredith Salget 12Meredith Salget 12 

Receiving "INVALID_CROSS_REFERENCE_KEY, Owner ID: owner cannot be blank: [OwnerId]" error

Hello ~ I'm an admin that just started at a new company and cleaning up code of a developer that has left. There were a bunch of hard-coded Ids in code and configurations and I've attempted to replace them, in part, with a Custom Hierarchy Setting. I updated some code to reference the Id__c field on the custom setting instead of hard-coding the id, but I'm getting the "INVALID_CROSS_REFERENCE_KEY, Owner ID: owner cannot be blank: [OwnerId]" error. The code was hard-coding a Queue Id (named "Trash") and setting the owner of a Case record. My custom setting is named Trash_Queue__c. I've ensured that the Custom Setting is populated with the correct 18 character Id for the Queue. When I use execute anonymous to test if I am setting the trashQueue variable correctly, I get the result I want. What am I missing? Here is a snippet of the code:

@isTest
private class TestSchedulableClass {

static testmethod void test() {
        test.startTest();

Trash_Queue__c trashQueueSetting = Trash_Queue__c.getOrgDefaults();

String trashQueue = trashQueueSetting.Id__c;

Case delOldCase= new Case();
        delOldCase.OwnerId =trashQueue;
        insert delOldCase;

Test.stopTest();   
     }
}

Thanks!
Meredith
Alexander TsitsuraAlexander Tsitsura
Hi Meredith,

You code snippet is test. This TestMethod not view all database, you need initialize Trash_Queue__c settings.

i Recomended u to use @testSetup method
@testSetup static void setup() {
    Trash_Queue__c t = Trash_Queue__c .getOrgsDefaults();
    t.Id__c = [select Id from Group where Name = 'My Group' and Type = 'Queue'][0].Id;
    upsert t;
}