function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Nathalie DefrenneNathalie Defrenne 

How to create Validation Rule on Picklist to then fill in text field.

Hi I am new to Saleforce after many years. 

I am trying to create a rule that if Stage in Opportunity is Partner then a partner name field pops up to type in.  

Any advice on how to do this? I am back in the SF game and very rusty. 

Thanks, 

Nathalie 
Best Answer chosen by Nathalie Defrenne
Neetu_BansalNeetu_Bansal
Hi Nathalie,

You need to create a validation rule on Opportunity. Follow the below steps:
  • Go to Setup -> App setup -> Customize -> Opportunity -> Validation Rules, click Validation rules
  • Click New button
  • Enter any rule name
  • In the Error condition formula, enter the following formula: IF( AND( ISPICKVAL( StageName, 'Partner' ), ISBLANK( Partner_Name__c ), true, false )
  • Enter the error message and save the rule.
You need to replace the field API name as per your data model. Let me know, if you need any help.

Thanks,
Neetu

All Answers

R Z KhanR Z Khan
Hi Nathalie,

Sound like you need to have a custom VF page. You would need to write some javascript to hide/show the field based on the Stage field value. Standard page layouts dont let you show or hide fields on conditions. 
Neetu_BansalNeetu_Bansal
Hi Nathalie,

You need to create a validation rule on Opportunity. Follow the below steps:
  • Go to Setup -> App setup -> Customize -> Opportunity -> Validation Rules, click Validation rules
  • Click New button
  • Enter any rule name
  • In the Error condition formula, enter the following formula: IF( AND( ISPICKVAL( StageName, 'Partner' ), ISBLANK( Partner_Name__c ), true, false )
  • Enter the error message and save the rule.
You need to replace the field API name as per your data model. Let me know, if you need any help.

Thanks,
Neetu