function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Adam VenerAdam Vener 

What are Primary and Foreign keys?

Hello,

I'm new to the Community and the SF Community cloud. I am currently taking the Admin Beginner courses, and there are times when I come across terms in the text that are not self-explanatory.

As example, in the Understanding Custom and Standard Objects module, the text says, under "Overview of Objects":

"Each table comprises a number of columns of a particular data type, such as text, number, or date. Information is stored in rows of the table. Tables can be related to other tables, using primary and foreign keys. Apps manage information by creating, reading, updating, and deleting rows in a table"

The problem is, I am not a database programmer, and I have no idea what primary and foreign keys are. They are not described in this document.
Is it relevant to what I am learning and if so, can someone please provide a description of these terms as they relate to the paragraph above?

Thank you for any feedback!

Best Answer chosen by Adam Vener
ajay rawat 14ajay rawat 14
Hi Adam
            Primary key and Foreign key are relational database concepts. It is use to relate one table information to another for example I want to store employes and company details in my database so If I create a table and create column like emp name, emp contact,  Company Name, Company address then there is data duplication I have to enter same value for Company Name and Company address. If company address is changed then I have to update all records field. This is not a proper database structure and it will have data duplication.