function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Bob BaconBob Bacon 

Creating a test class for trigger that references a lead to copy a field to a task

I have a relatively simple working trigger but I can't seem to get a test class to successfully run.  I have spent a few hours researching for a solution but I'm a novice and still can't figure it out.  Can anyone please help?  TIA

The trigger is:
trigger UpdateAccountType on Task (before insert , before update) { 
    Set<Id> leadId = new Set<Id>(); 
        for(Task t : Trigger.new){ 
            if(t.WhoId != null){ 
                String s1 = t.WhoId; 
            if(s1.left(3) == '00Q'){ 
                leadId.add(t.whoId); 
            } 
        } 
    } 
Lead lead = [Select Id, Type__c From Lead Where Id In : leadId limit 1]; 
    for(Task tk: Trigger.New){ 
    tk.Account_Type__c = lead.Type__c; 
    } 
 }

The test class I'm trying to run is:
@IsTest
Public Class TestAcountType {
static testmethod void insertTask() {
    Task t = new Task();
        t.WhoId = '00QJ000000B1nPQ';
        t.Type = 'Other';
    insert t
    }
}
Best Answer chosen by Bob Bacon
Martijn SchwarzerMartijn Schwarzer
Hi Bob,

First of all:
I'm not sure what your trigger is doing. First you collect all leads from the tasks created. Then you query only the first Lead and assing that type to all the Tasks. Is that what you meant to do? If not, please let me know what the trigger should do exactly, so I can point you in the right direction.

Regarding your test class:
There are a few things you will need to know about unit tests on the Salesforce platform. My advise would be to study the following chapter of the apex developer guide:

https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_testing.htm