+ Start a Discussion
Sarvesh PrajapatiSarvesh Prajapati 

Remove users

Hi

How to delete assigned users from salesforce.com developer edition.

Sarvesh
Amit Chaudhary 8Amit Chaudhary 8
You can not delete the user from salsforce. You can just deativate the user
Sandeep Kumar Gaddam 4Sandeep Kumar Gaddam 4
Hello Prajapathi,

You can't delete a user, but you can deactivate an account so a user can no longer log in to Salesforce. From Setup, enter Users in the Quick Find box, then select Users. Deselect the Active checkbox and then click Save.

See the link below to understand more :

https://help.salesforce.com/HTViewHelpDoc?id=deactivating_users.htm


Thanks 
Mark a best answer as well so that thread is closed and help us to keep community clean.
 
DeepthiDeepthi (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Sarvesh,

There is no option for deleting a user from org. We can either freeze or deactivate a user.
If you freeze a user account, it gives you the opportunity to move the associated records, etc. to the ownership of someone else so they would be able to manage those accounts.  "Freezing" only stops the user from being able to login.  When you "deactivate," it frees up that salesforce license to be given to another user.

Hope this helps you!
Best Regards,
Deepthi
JyothsnaJyothsna (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Sarvesh,

The short answer is that you cannot delete a user. Unlike most other Salesforce objects, Users are very closely tied into the audit trail, as well as security, sharing rules, Account Teams, and other functionalities. That means that if a person leaves your organization, and you need to remove their ability to log in, you can just deactivate their User record, by editing it to uncheck the Active checkbox field. That prevents them from logging in completely but does not delete them from the system. They will still own their Accounts and Opportunities, be listed in the audit trail wherever they created or edited a record, and also retain their Account Teams and Sales Teams. You will not lose the complete history of their activities within the system.
If you make a mistake setting up a new user, such as misspelling their name or email address, you can simply edit the User record to correct it. However, you never want to rename the User of a person who has left your organization, as this will overwrite their entire history with the name of the new person.

Hope this helps you!
Best Regards,
Jyothsna