function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rob PetrieRob Petrie 

Not sure best approach to solve simple problem

Context: We have a custom object called Projects, which sinks to a system called Harvest. The projects have a child object called Time Entries, which stores start time, end time, and duration. Every night, Harvest syncs to these objects and adds new time entires. Every time entry lives on a parent Project. There are two Projects per client account, one for Client Relations, and the other for Development.

What I want: I want a roll up summary field on the Account object that sums the total Dev and CR time from the sum of time entries in the past twelve months. Unfortunately, it is my understanding that you cannot use the Today() formula on rollup summary objects.

I'm new to SFDC development but have been an admin for four years. My theoretical appraoch would be to have a trigger that runs every night on the Time Entries object and says is the date of the entry in the last 12 months, if so, check yes, if not, check no. Because the TODAY() formula will be running in the back end, I can then use that check box to create rollup summary fields and don't need to over complicate it. 

Problem: I've never written code. 

Any help here would be really really appreciated. We have a full sandbox, but no development resources currently, so I'm just trying to get started. 
William TranWilliam Tran