function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Patrick/ JamesPatrick/ James 

Apex Trigger - Trying to populate lookup field

Hi there,

I'm quite new to Apex Triggers, so just trying to find my feet here.

On the Campaign object we have a lookup to a custom object called 'Course Templates'. We also have a lookup on the Campaign object to another custom object called 'Course Archives'.

All of the 'Course Template' records have duplicates 'Course Archive' records. So - for example - the Course Template record 'Acting - Beginners' has a Course Archive equivalent (also called 'Acting - Beginners').

The trigger below is intended to populate the Course Archive lookup on the Campaign, using the name of the Course Template. The error I'm receiving seems to suggest that I actually need the ID of the record in order to input into this lookup field, but I only have the name of the record.

trigger CourseArchiveInclusion on Campaign (before insert, before update) { 
    for (Campaign c : Trigger.new) {
        if(c.status != null && (c.Status.equals('Completed') ||  c.Status.equals('Cancelled'))){
            c.course_archive__c = c.Template_Name_for_Archive__c;
        }
    }
}

Is there a workaround for this?

Many thanks.

Marek Kosar_Marek Kosar_
Hello,

yes you need to know Id, so your options are:
1. to populate course archive lookup, you have to query for it (so you get Id of that record)  by Name (I suppose this name is unique for both custom objects) - don't forget to bulkify it -> query outside of for loop
2. you create new field (or use existing one where you store name), set it as External ID + unique -> then you can use this external ID to populate lookup without knowing ID (you populate this field during creation of both - Course Templates and Archives - with the same value)

Marek

Terence_ChiuTerence_Chiu