function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
louisa barrett 7louisa barrett 7 

reference lookup from custom object in apex code

Hi,

I have created a custom object named Project_Sheet__c, within that object I have a lookup field to the associated Opportunity.
I want to display a list of the opportunity line items on the Project Sheet page layout.
I'm new to Apex and VF, so spologies if this is an easy thing and I've gone about it all wrong.
The code is compiling ok, but I'm getting the following message on the page 
Content cannot be displayed: SObject row was retrieved via SOQL without querying the requested field: Project_sheet__c.Project_sheet_Opportunity__r

I've tried creating a formula field that returns the OpportunityID, and used that in the query instead, but the error message just changes it's reference to the new field instead.
Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

I have the following for my controller and VF page:

Controller:
public class ProjectSheetOpportunityProductsAP {
    public Project_sheet__c custObj;

public ProjectSheetOpportunityProductsAP(){
                   }

public ProjectSheetOpportunityProductsAP(ApexPages.StandardController controller){
        custObj= (Project_sheet__c)controller.getRecord();
           }

public List<OpportunityLineItem> getOppProducts(){
        List<OpportunityLineItem> lstOLI = [SELECT Quantity,PriceBookEntry.Name FROM OpportunityLineItem WHERE OpportunityID =: custObj.Project_Sheet_Opportunity__r.ID];
        return lstOLI;
    }
    }

VF:
<apex:page standardController="Project_Sheet__c" extensions="ProjectSheetOpportunityProductsAP" showHeader="false" sidebar="false">
    <apex:pageBlock title="Product list">
    <apex:pageblocktable value="{!OppProducts}" var="oli">
        <apex:column value="{!oli.Quantity}"/>
    </apex:pageblocktable>
    </apex:pageBlock>