function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Brian LiederBrian Lieder 

"touching" assets to trigger code

I am asking this question for our Developer, i am an Admin.

We have some code on the account layout that does a calculation on the Assets object.  Serves as a rollup since we cannot directly do a rollup summary.  The code works, the only issue is an Asset must be "touched" in order for the code to do its job.  The question is how can we get the code to run it's calculation without having to manually edit and save an asset?  
Best Answer chosen by Brian Lieder
matt.ian.thomasmatt.ian.thomas
I realized that there was the time portion of your question after I posted this. You could either execute the code in a scheduled job, OR use a time-based workflow that has a field update which would subsequently invoke this trigger.

All Answers

Can you give some more info on what that calculation is? It sounds like it's some sort of aggregate of all or a subset of all Assets on a given Account. In that case, why would you want the calculation to be run if an Asset wasn't touched? It's best in cases like this to only calculate when you absolutely need to.
Brian LiederBrian Lieder
Yes, the calculation adds all assets that have a sale date in the specified time period (last 365 days).  The problem is that this concept relies on there being a change every day so that the code will run.  If an account has no sales for, say 3 weeks, the number will not update since there was no trigger to make the code run.  I need the number to update daily 
trigger AssetTrigger on Asset (after delete, after insert, after update) {
	/**	We need to use the after contexts in this trigger, since if some sort of exception were to
	cause dml to fail, then we could possibly recalculate the number assuming that the dml succeeded,