function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dan RamirezDan Ramirez 

Set Opportunity Record Type with Apex Class based on Order Type

We currently use an Apex Class that will generate opportunities from Orders that are imported nightly from an SSIS package. Originally the only orders that would generate opportunities were the ones that were of the Sales_Order type, but recently we changed the trigger to also include Service_Orders, so now we have to figure out how to modify our code so that it'll assign the correct opportunity record type based on the order type. The class was written by someone else and I'm REALLY new to coding so I'm hoping you guys can help me. Here is the class:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dvotyvt765pv6we/Order_Helper.pdf?dl=0

(I had to do it this way because there's a charater limit.)

If I understand this correctly, the class puts all the orders on a list and runs through the Opportunity Number field. If it has a valid number it'll simply link the Order to the Opportunity with that number. However, if the Order does not have an Opportunity Number, or the number does not match an existing Opportunity's number, it'll generate a new opportunity through the Order Wrapper section. I'm pretty sure that the part that the part that currently sets the record type is the part that I've put in bold letters, my question is: why did they put that section there and not define it in the Order Wrapper section that sets the other Opportunity fields? And, I tried replacing that part with the loop below but got an error saying we had maxed out our SOQL inquiries, how can I rewrite this to work? Or, if you think there's a better way, how would you do it? 
list<Id> oppRT = new list<id>();
            String rtLabel = '';
            for(Order__c xxx:orders ){
            if(xxx.Order_Type__c=='Sales_order' ){