function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Wayne Solomon 2016Wayne Solomon 2016 

How to create visualforce "dependent picklist" on a master-detail relationship

Hi, I have a master-detail relationsip between a site and a venue field.  With my current code below the page preloads the picklists with these values.
User-added image

How to I get the ID of the selected site object so that I can populate the venues related to that particular site? 

Markup*
                    <apex:selectList required="true" label="Site" value="{!selectedSite}" multiselect="false" size="1" >
                        <apex:selectOptions value="{!SitesOptions}"></apex:selectOptions>
                    </apex:selectList>

<apex:selectList required="true" label="Venue" value="{!selectedVenue}" multiselect="false" size="1" id="myVenues">
                        <apex:selectOptions value="{!VenueOptions}" ></apex:selectOptions>
                    </apex:selectList>

ControllerCode*
    public User currentUser = [select id, name, business_unit__c from user where id =: userInfo.getUserId()];
    public String currentUserBusinessUnit = currentUser.Business_Unit__c;
    public String selectedSite{get;set;}
    public String selectedVenue{get;set;}

public List<selectOption> getSitesOptions(){
        List<selectOption> siteOptions = new List<selectOption>();
        List<Site__c> siteList = new List<Site__c>();
        siteList = [SELECT Id,Name FROM Site__c WHERE business_unit__c =: currentUserBusinessUnit];

for(Site__c s : siteList){
            siteOptions.add(new selectOption(s.Id,s.Name) );
        }
        return siteOptions;
    }

public List<selectOption> getVenueOptions(){
        List<selectOption> venueOptions = new List<selectOption>();
        List<Venue__c> venueList = new List<Venue__c>();