function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SHAIK MOHAMMAD YASEENSHAIK MOHAMMAD YASEEN 

How Skip a record from trigger.new and insert remaining records in trigger.new

Hi All,

I am new to salesforce development. Need all your help here.

I have a  scenario to write a trigger where while creating List of records in Account object it should check if there are any duplicates with reference to account name.
If exist then it should skip those records and insert the remaing records. 
so my requirement is no need to displayt any error. just have to skip the unfavourable records from trigger.new and save the favourable records in trigger.new alone. 

Please assist me here

Best Answer chosen by SHAIK MOHAMMAD YASEEN
ManojSankaranManojSankaran
Hi Shaik,

Now i understand your requirement clearly,

As i mentioned above we will have any one of the solution in place to avoid the duplicates(Either unique field or a trigger).

When inserting a list of account you have to use Database.insert instead of Insert

So that it will insert only the success records and leave the duplicate records. Later if you want to see why some records has been failed you have use the save result methods.

See how to use Database.Insert
http://blog.biswajeetsamal.com/post/2015/11/23/difference-between-insert-and-database-insert-in-salesforce/

Thanks
Manoj S

All Answers

Hi Shaik,

Below is my assumption, That we are loading multiple account into Salesforce from either dataloader or through ETL Tool.

This can be acomplised in many ways.
Configuration
1. you can create a simple text field and make that text field unique
2. Create a workflow rule to populate the account name in that text field. 
3. Since that text field is unique, system will restrict those records to get inserted.

You can set duplicate rules in salesforce to restrict  the account creation.