function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jameskCAjameskCA 

Need help updating related object in beforeupdate trigger.

I'm very new to apex and have been working on a custom 'proposal object.'  The object is related to the lead object through a lookup field.  There are a number of fields the sales person has to fill in on the proposal object in order to generate a proposal (using loop document generation).  Once all fields are filled in and values are calculated, I want to push a number (at least 10) fields back to the related lead.  

I don't really know how to do this.  I'm trying to use the put method, but it doesn't seem to be working.  Here is the relevant code:

for(Proposal__c p:Trigger.new){

Lead lead = mLead.get(p.Lead__c);

lead.put('Panel_Type__c',p.Panel_Type__c);
Any advice would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.  

Ajay GautamAjay Gautam
1. Collect the Lead Ids using the loop variable, like you're doing in Row1-3
2. While collecting values, also prepare a Map<Id, Id> that is LeadId --> Proposal__c Id. This will help you to point the Proposal record in nextStep.
3. Query the Lead using that ID and prepare a List to be updated. Based on Map created in step2, find the corresponding ProposalID and using newMap get the Proposal record. 
4. Push the Lead into system.

Note: for Step 2. instead of Query you can directly create/assign Lead e.g. Lead objLead = new Lead(Id=p.Lead__c); and prepare a List for the same. You save a SOQL here, but unsure if leadId is correct and will pass the Validation or Lookup filter in next step. Anyways, do the first method only for now. Rest you will be learning soon!

Good Luck!

jameskCAjameskCA