function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jameskCAjameskCA 

How to do a chatter mention in Apex in 2016?

I'm hoping someone could provide some sample code or point me to the correct documentation.  I'm not a chatter expert, but I'm trying to accomplish the equivalent of saying @salesAdmin "there's a problem with project 1234." and have it show up in the users chatter feed.  I've done a lot of searching on the web and many of the posts are from 2013 or earlier.  It seems like there have been a lot of changes as all the example code I have tried doesn't seem to work and returns the error Method was removed after version 3x.0

A specific example I tried was:
ConnectApi.FeedItemInput feedItemInput = new ConnectApi.FeedItemInput();
ConnectApi.MentionSegmentInput mentionSegmentInput = new ConnectApi.MentionSegmentInput();
ConnectApi.MessageBodyInput messageBodyInput = new ConnectApi.MessageBodyInput();
ConnectApi.TextSegmentInput textSegmentInput = new ConnectApi.TextSegmentInput();

messageBodyInput.messageSegments = new List<ConnectApi.MessageSegmentInput>();

mentionSegmentInput.id = '005RR000000Dme9';
messageBodyInput.messageSegments.add(mentionSegmentInput);

textSegmentInput.text = 'Could you take a look?';
messageBodyInput.messageSegments.add(textSegmentInput);

feedItemInput.body = messageBodyInput;
feedItemInput.feedElementType = ConnectApi.FeedElementType.FeedItem;
feedItemInput.subjectId = '0F9RR0000004CPw';

ConnectApi.FeedElement feedElement = ConnectApi.ChatterFeeds.postFeedElement(Network.getNetworkId(), feedItemInput, null);
Any ideas?  What is the best way to do this as of the most current release in 2016?

Best Answer chosen by jameskCA
James LoghryJames Loghry
Hi Jim,

I for one am SHOCKED that the ConnectAPI methods are confusing for you.