function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dave Taylor 12Dave Taylor 12 

I am not a developer, but I need create a web form to add a chatter post to an account (selected on the web page from a list). Can anyone point me in the right direction to get started?

We are a nonprofit charity in the UK that runs a helpline for patients, using Salesforce. 

I need to capture data from Salesforce into a web page (essentially to create a map of the locations and some data from a list of specific accounts; specifically those accounts identified in the salesforce account record by a checkbox), and to create two web forms to do the following: 

Form 1 - adds a chatter post to an account from the list on the web page (account is known to exist as form only works with the accounts whose locations are on the map).

Form 2 (unrelated to above use cases) - creates a case and associated contact and account (having first checked whether contact already exists).

I at first thought of using FormAssembly to create the forms, but we cannot permit the data we are capturing to be stored or to transit outside of the EU, or outside of the Salesforce platform. So I need help with creating web to case, and web to other record types and also with providing an API for the web developers to be able to pull the specified data on demand from Salesforce. 

If the above form use cases are do-able by an admin with process builder and web to case know-how, then I’m willing to learn if someone can help to get me started. As for the API, I don’t know where to begin. Is there a ready-made solution?
Christian Dylan CarterChristian Dylan Carter
Hey Dave,