• Member since 2006

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hey all,

I'm new to apex coding and i'm have an incredibly hard time understanding something that should be really simple.

I have a custom object Reference_Request__c that has a field OftR__c - reference

OftR__c in turn is reference to Opportunity.

Basically, what i want to do is set Reference_Request__c 's OwnerId to OftR__c's OwnerId.

I know that OwnerId is a lookup for OftR__c, but i dont really know what that means or how i should approach something like that.

this is what i have so far, but it returns an Exception on line 5.

trigger Insert_RelatedOwnerID_as_RefReqOwnerID on Reference_Request__c (before update, before insert) {
	List<Reference_Request__c> l = new List<Reference_Request__c>();
	for(Reference_Request__c req: Trigger.new){
		l = [Select req.OftR__r.Owner_ID__c From Reference_Request__c req limit 1];
		req.OwnerId = l[0].OwnerId;

}
}

While i'm here asking for help, could someone explain the child-parent, parent-child relationship i have here? I read the web api on relationships and i just cant seem to connect the dots.

Any help is appreciated

• June 16, 2010

I have a visual force email template that uses a component to place an attachment into an email.  I also have code in my application that transitions to the the EmailAuthor.jsp page using a url that looks like this:

https://na7.salesforce.com/_ui/core/email/author/EmailAuthor?p3_lkid=a0bA0000000A6slIAC&template_id=00XA0000000OHXmMAO

As you can see, I am providing a whatId and a template id.