• Senior Director, Platform Documentation and User Assistance
  • Salesforce

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I have very little background in programming and therefore find the tutorials and documentation available from force.com completely inadequate for my Apex learning needs.

It is clearly written for those that have a bit of programming knowledge.  I am looking for a step by step "Apex for dummies", or something that can walk me through all of the available components one by one.  I find all the documentation on methods and variables interesting, but I don't know what apex:actionsupport is, or what apex:outputlink is, etc...  AndI have not found anything that lists them one by one with examples, perhaps I have not looking in the right place...

In searching, there are a number of books for Apex in relation to Oracle.  Is this the same thing?  Can I use one of those books?

Thanks

I have an Apex class that I want to call from a button.  But I can't figure out how to call it from a button.
Note: I have tested this code inside a trigger and it works fine.

My button code is just (obviously this is wrong):
sforce.apex.execute("MyHelloWorld","doKPI", {});

The class code:
global class MyHelloWorld {

WebService static void doKPI() {

INTEGER NUM = 10;

KPI__c[] tblkpi;

tblkpi = new KPI__c[NUM];

for (integer i = 0; i < NUM; i++) {
      tblkpi[i] = new KPI__c(UserName__c='user '+i, Signed_Contracts__c = i);
    }
    insert tblkpi;
  }
}

These links have dissapeared overnight....
I cannot find any new links, only PDF downloads.

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/apexcode/

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/pages/index.htm

Does anyone else use the HTML Guides?
Or do you use the PDF Downloadable Guides?
If you use the PDF guides, why do you prefer them?
I have preferred the HTML due to the search returning more relevant results. But maybe I could use the PDF search better?