• 329 Points
  • Member since 2007

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi, I'm pretty new to visualforce development.  I'm currently trying to create a page that will serve as an  update wizard for a parent and child custom object.  I'm getting the following error when trying to reference the child object (Petition__c) in the VF page.

Error: Could not resolve the entity from <apex:inputField> value binding '{!petition.Start_Date__c}'. <apex:inputField> can only be used with SObject fields.

So as it is I can get and update information from the "h2case" but not from the "petition".  I'll post my vf and controller code below.  

<apex:page controller="Testappnotcont">
    <apex:sectionHeader title="Approval Notice Received"/>
        <apex:form >
            <apex:pageBlock title="Update Member Information">
                <apex:pageblockButtons >
                    <apex:commandButton value="Save" action="{!save}"/>
                    <apex:commandButton value="Cancel" action="{!cancel}"/>
                </apex:pageblockButtons>
                    <b>Scan approval notice into company's e-file using the following format </b>
                            <blockquote> <FONT COLOR="#FF0000">Company Name - Approval - Last 5 digits of            the approval notice</FONT> </blockquote>
                <apex:pageBlockSection title="H2Case Information">
                    <b> Update the H2Case status to "Approval Notice Recieved". </b>
                            <apex:inputField value="{! h2case.status__c}"/>
                </apex:pageBlockSection>
                <apex:pageBlockSection title="Petition Information">
                    <p> <b> Make sure that the start and end dates are correct. </b> <br/>
                            <apex:inputField value="{! petition.Start_Date__c}"/> <br/>
                            <apex:inputField value="{! petition.End_Date__c}"/> </p>