• Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Help please.....

I am new to coding in general so please go easy on me.  I got some help with my code but can't seem to figure out why I am getting a "System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object" error from my trigger every time I save.  Here is the scenario:

Basically do screenings and we record Total_cash__c, Total_charges__c, and Total_checks__c collected on our opportunities.  We needed a way to link each opportunity to a custom object Deposit__c and be able to sum each related field on the Deposit__c.  There will never be more than 10 opportunities attached to one Deposit via lookup. Because I cannot create a master-detail with an opportunity to run a roll-up I need to do it with a trigger on an opportunity with a lookup field to the Deposit custom object.  My code compiles but gives me the de-reference a null object error and I can figure out why. 

The error starts here.  Am I doing something wrong in the way I am accessing and trying to set the value of the fields of Sum_of_Cash__c, Sum_of_Checks, Sum_of_Charges   ??The fields are created on the Deposit__c custom object and of the same type on the related opportunity.

thisDeposit.Sum_of_Cash__c = totalSumCash;

trigger DepositRollup on Opportunity (after insert, after update) {

//instantiate opportunity

Opportunity thisScreening = Trigger.New[0];

// retrieve from the DB all of the opportunities related to the current related deposit

List<Opportunity> screenings = [SELECT Deposited__r.Name, Total_cash__c, Total_checks__c, Total_charges__c
FROM Opportunity WHERE Deposited__c =: thisScreening.Deposited__c];

//instantiate this related deposit

Deposit__c thisDeposit = thisScreening.Deposited__r;

// init variables for sum
double totalSumCash = 0, totalSumChecks = 0, totalSumCharges = 0;

//iterate through each opportunity in this list, calculate the sum on the deposit