• Member since 2010

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hello All,

I am curious as to what Programming Environment Sales Force was created in. From the discussions I reviewed in the forum I see that it uses "Oracle" database for data storage. What Programming language was used in creating the CRM itself? Was it Java?

Again, I realize there is an API out there and that Developers use APEX and SOQL. I am just asking this out of curiosity for my general knowledge of the system.

Thanks,

Pedram

Hello All,

I am fairly new to Apex and Force.com in general. I have been going through the Force.com Workbook (the one that comes with Eclipse Force IDE Help File) which has an example Adding Apex Trigger, with the following code:

trigger HandleProductPriceChange on Merchandise__c (after undelete) 
{
	// update invoice line items associated with open invoices
	List openLineItems = 
		[SELECT j.Unit_Price__c, j.Merchandise__r.Price__c
		 FROM Line_Item__c j 
		 WHERE j.Invoice_Statement__r.Status__c = 'Negotiating'  
		 AND j.Merchandise__r.id IN :Trigger.new 
	 	 FOR UPDATE]; 

for (Line_Item__c li: openLineItems)
	{
		if (li.Merchandise__r.Price__c < li.Unit_Price__c)
		{
			li.Unit_Price__c = li.Merchandise__r.Price__c;
		}
	}

update openLineItems;
}

The trigger saves and even shows up on the Web Interface under Triggers for the Merchandise Object. But when I change the price of the item, the line item never updates the amount. 

Can anyone tell me what I am missing? Everything else seems to be working like a charm.

Thanks,

Pedram

Hello All,

I am curious as to what Programming Environment Sales Force was created in. From the discussions I reviewed in the forum I see that it uses "Oracle" database for data storage. What Programming language was used in creating the CRM itself? Was it Java?