• Member since 2011

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to SFDC development and I need to bulkify following trigger. I've checked multiple resources, but couldn't move forward. :(  Every help will be highly appreciated!

Regs

---------------------------------

trigger BI_Rental_CheckAssetStatus on Rental__c (before insert) {

// Disables to rent assets with other status than Available.

for(Rental__c myRental : trigger.new){

Asset__c myAsset = [SELECT status__c FROM Asset__c WHERE Id = :myRental.Asset__c];

if(myAsset.status__c != 'Available'){
            myRental.addError('You cannot borrow asset, which has a different status than Available. Current asset status is ' + myAsset.status__c + '.');
        }

}

}

---------------------------------

I have a trigger that just counts number of task created with certain values in custom fields.
I am assigning the result in a number field say "num_of_task_with_client"

I am using the following simple addition statement in the code:
        num_of_task_with_client += 1;

which basically means "num_of_task_with_client = num_of_task_with_client + 1;"
when the initial value of the custom field is 0 or blank, I am getting "Attempt to de-reference a null object" error.

But I dont understand why null pointer exception to be thrown on such a basic logical expression.
Why apex is not automatically takeing the blank number value as 0?
Does any one have faced this exception before?

We developed few WebService Classes last year and updated them with few new method now.

The last version of the WSDL file was generated in March & the current version have almost 1000 lines extra apart from the changes we made to the class.