• 25 Points
  • Member since 2012

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I need to create(and I have zero apex experience) a simple trigger that will do the following:

//psuedo code

if (the new case owner is not in the same case team as the old case owner) {

increment a field by 1

}

else {

nothing

}

its for the case object

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Hello, 

I am trying to assign an Id to a string variable (parentId).

The logic is the following:  if the Account of the Contact has a parent account then use the parent Account id otherwise read the Account Id.

The issue raises when I am assigning the Parent Account ID   (c.Account.Portal_Parent_Account__c) to my variable.

I ran the query within the SOQL editor ( eclipse schema ) and it returned me with an id for the Portal_Parent_Account. 

here's my code:

for(Contact c : [Select Account.Portal_Parent_Account__c,Account.Id from Contact where id =: contactid limit 1])
{
    if(c.Account.Portal_Parent_Account__c !='' && c.Account.Portal_Parent_Account__c != null) 
    {
         parentid = c.Account.Portal_Parent_Account__c;
         system.debug('******************Parent ID IF:' + parentid);
    }
    else
    {
         parentid = c.Account.Id;
         system.debug('******************Parent ID ELSE:' + parentid);
    }
}

Please note that I am not doing any insert or update before this code. I'm suspecting that maybe something is wrong when using 2 levels of hierarchy (parent of parent) ? Perhaps a lazy loading scenario ? 

Thank you for reading my post.

Hello,

about a year ago, I coded a batchable class that is scheduled to run every night. The number of batches is about 2500.