• 30 Points
  • Member since 2013

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi, I was wondering if someone could help me with an Apex trigger I'm trying to write? I am completely new to coding, please bear with me -

I am working with a custom object and Accounts. In the custom object, when a checkbox = true, values in that record should update the corresponding Account's fields. Every record in this custom object is related to an Account so I tried at first creating a master-detail relationship and then using SF's workflows, but we will also need to see history on these custom object records (particularly which of our users checked the checkbox), which I've read you can't get using master-detail relationships so it's a lookup currently.

This is what I have so far - a record in this custom object will never have the checkbox ("Approved__c") selected upon insert, only upon update:

trigger CQApprovedUpsertChurch on Church_Questionnaire__c (before update) {
    List<Account> a = new List<Account> ();
    for (Church_Questionnaire__c ApprovedCQ: Trigger.New)
    if (ApprovedCQ.Approved__c = True)
        {
            a.add (new Account (
            CORE_Yearbook_ID__c = ApprovedCQ.Church_Yearbook_ID__c,
            Mailing_Street_1__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_Street_1__c,
            Mailing_Street_2__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_Street_2__c,
            Mailing_Street_3__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_Street_3__c,
            Mailing_City__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_City__c,
            Mailing_State_Province__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_State_Province__c,
            Mailing_Zip_Postal_Code__c = ApprovedCQ.Mailing_Zip_Postal_Code__c
            ));
        }
    upsert a Account.CORE_Yearbook_ID__c;
}

It is working to update the Account's address when the custom object record is saved and Approved__c = True, however when I edit that same record to uncheck Approved__c and save, it becomes checked again.