• Member since 2016

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Greetings,

I am trying to configure Salesforce for Outlook plugin on my sandbox environment, but keep getting an error (can't connect to test.salesforce.com. Verify the URL and connection and try again). I've tried changing credentials, rolling back to old versions of the plugin, changing the URL to my sandbox instance (cs50.salesforce.com), among other suggestions from the community, but nothing seems to work.

Also, I can login to my DE normally, and configure it as expected. The problem is exclusive to my sandbox, and other people on my team have faced the same problem. 

Any ideas as to what the problem might be? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Guilherme
Hey all, I'm a pretty inexperienced Apex dev and was wondering about some best practices for looping through all object fields for their helptext metadata.

Our business case requires us to have more than 20 Lookups on a record.  Each of these lookups has their own set of fields on the record that pull in data from the lookup (Can't use formulas, otherwise cross object reference limit gets too high).  To mark which fields to put data in from the lookup, I added a search string in the help text "<<CODR" (I would put it in the description but you can't access description metadata?).  My apex class currently loops through all the object's fields and searches for the ones with the code string.  Once it grabs all of the strings, it performs the necessary steps to put in the data from the respective lookup into the field.

My biggest issue is scaling.  Our object has ~600 fields and this process takes a lot of CPU time (On average, around 75% before CPU Limit!).  I have this class activated on a before update trigger, which fires off anytime a user saves a record.  It's very slow and highly inefficient.

The data needs to be filled in only when
A. A specified Lookup is changed