• 75 Points
  • Member since 2005

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I am new to apex code but have written a trigger that updates a custom revenue field on the opportunity and that works as desired until the opportunity being updated has a close date in the past.  This is due to a validation rule that does fires whenever the close date is less than today.  I see that this is a common issue by searching these boards, but I have not found a solution.  Is there way to writer the validation rule so that it does not fire if a particular field is being updated, or if the update is caused by the trigger?

With my limited knowledge, I cannot figure out a way around this error and subsequently no update by the trigger.  I'd really appreciate some ideas on how to manage this issue.  Thanks!

This is the validation rule:

AND(
OR (
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Job Dispatched"),
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Waiting for Approval"),
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Searching for sub"),
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Approval Received - Need Contractor"),
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Priority - Searching for Sub"),
ISPICKVAL(StageName ,"Proposal/Price Quote")),
CloseDate < TODAY(),
IF(OR(ISNEW(), ISNULL(Id)), if(ConnectionReceivedId =null, TRUE, FALSE),NOT(AND(ISCHANGED(ConnectionReceivedId), NOT(ConnectionReceivedId = null)))),

NOT(Contains($User.Alias, "pnet"))
)

Hello all,

I have the scenario where I'd like to have a constant value across all records in an object while being able to update that value frequently.

For instance, Let's say I have 3 records in Object A with a field called "value".

Record 1) Value:0;

Record 2) Value:5;

Record 3) Value:50;

Now, let's say I want a constant that scales all values in, say, a formula field, such that the values are from 0-100. So, constant = 2.0

Record 1) Scaled Value:0;

Record 2) Scaled Value:10;

Record 3) Scaled Value:100;

Now, imagine i added a fourth record

Record 4) Value:100;

And now the constant = 1.0;