• Member since 2007

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Thanks for help in advance!!

I have two fields on a custom object, startDate, endDate which a user inputs.

i.e. startDate: 3/24/2008  9:05 a.m.  endDate 3/26/2008 9:05 a.m.

notice that the start date is less than the end date but the times are equal, bad user..  This information is used to create multiple events for each day.. My users are having a hard time getting the timespan concept, and seem to keep doing this.

So how can i validate this to prevent this problem..

the simple

IF(Date_Start_Time__c >= Date_End_Time__c , true, false)

will not cut it here.. with the multiday issue.. I do not see anything in the validation that applies to time??

Thanks Again!!

Message Edited by Benjamin_Pirih on 03-20-2008 08:53 AM
I'm maintaining some existing code that uses the API to make query calls to the db.  (My background is a web developer using standard SQL).  I have a query that I need to modify that uses a field that is a datatype of 'Picklist'.  I need to get only rows where value in the picklist field starts with a certain value (perfect scenario for a 'like').  I don't want to hardcode a list of 6 values, plus I don't want to be tied to what my users might change later.  It looks like I can't use a 'like' on this type of field?  Can I get to id's of the picklist so I can use that so I don't hard-code values that my user could change?  (I'm guessing I should just give it up and hard-code a list...but it looks like I can't use an 'in' either...correct?)

Thanks for any thoughts.
I'm lookning for a list of Tables, fields, data types and lengths. I have searched high and low with no luck. I hav downloaded the getting started guid, the programmers reference, etc and found no reference to this in any of them.

Could some kind soul here please point me in the right direction?

I found a schma but it only lists the keyfields and the links...

Thanks in advance,

Daniel