• Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to Apex and I've not done any kind of development for a few years now, so please bear with me if the query is poorly-written. I need to have this query done by tomorrow and I'm stuck. So any help would be greatly appreciated!!! I'm sure this is a cake walk for many of you.

So, all I'm trying to do is: Once a new lead is created, I want to update a certain field on the lead. The reason I've chose the after insert is because I need the campaign ids associated to that particular lead (from the Campaign Member table).

But when I try to save the lead, I get the following error. I suspect this has something to do with not being to change an existing record, but how else can i get the campaigns associated to that particular lead from the CampaignMember table if I didn't use after insert? :(( 

Error: Record is read-only: Trigger.Copy_CampaignCode_For_New_Leads: line 34, column 21

trigger Copy_CampaignCode_For_New_Leads on Lead (after insert) {
if (Trigger.new.size() == 1)
{

Set<String> LeadString = new Set<String>();
    //Capture the Lead Id for use in the query

for(Lead l : Trigger.new)
    {

LeadString.add(l.Id);
        System.Debug(l.Id);

//Query all the Campaign records that match the Lead Id
        List<CampaignMember> c = [Select CampaignId  from CampaignMember where LeadId IN :LeadString order by LastModifiedDate desc];

//Capture the Campaign ID related to the first Campaign in the Campaign List achieved above.
        if(!c.isEmpty())
        {  
            system.debug(c[0].id);                              
            ID First_CampaignId = c[0].CampaignId;                   

//Now capture the Campaign Name associated to this Campaign Id
            if(First_CampaignId != null)
            {
               List<Campaign> Camp = [Select Name  from Campaign where Id = :First_CampaignId];