• 335 Points
  • Member since 2010

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

How do you prevent a user from entering a double spaces in a text field?

We have a field that must be unique but users are getting around the issue by adding double spaces.

What would the validation be to prevent them from saving it?

Thank you in advance

• October 27, 2010

Hi there,

I am new to formula writing and am at the end of my teather  and embarrassed about it too as I think this ought to be very simple.

I have 2 Picklists; "Picklist 1_c" and "Picklist2_c" . The values withing the picklists are the same.

I need an email to be sent to User X if a record is created or edited and the value of Picklist1_c is equal to the value of Picklist2_c.

I have tried to use the IF function snad the ISPICKVAL but I dont seem to be winning.  I have been trying for 2 days and am losing the will to live - someone take pity on me.. pleeeease ??

Does anybody know of a way to write a formula for the following scenario:

I currently have a field labeled "Assumption".  This field is a picklist with "Yes" and "No" options.  Should I choose "Yes", I would like a new field to appear titled "Original Closed Date" so that the user can populate this field.  Should I pick "No", I would like this "Original Closed Date" field to remain hidden so that the user doesn't have to bother with data entry on this field. 

Is this possible?  Any ideas or suggestion I could get would be much appreciated!

Thank you!

Tyler

Hi!

I have to make the "assigned to" field required based on the input of the "owner" field.

For example: if  "owner" is x, "assigned to" is required. If  "owner" is y, "assigned to" is not necessary.

Can someone please help with this.

thanks!

hi

I have to make certain fields required based on the input of other fields.