• Member since 2011

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi All,

I am new to VisualForce and I am still going through some testing with it to get more familiar. I am making a simple page where the user will enter a contact name and a list of all contacts that match the criteria will be displayed (in a dataTable). I setup my custom controller and wrote some VF markup for the page but I am getting the following error: 
Error: Could not resolve the entity from <apex:inputField> value binding '{!accountName}'. inputField can only be used with SObject fields.

I'm not sure what this means. My sample code is below. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Custom Controller

public class CardholderVfController {
    private String accountName;
    private List<String> accountList;
    private String contactName;
    private List<String> contactList;
    private final Case c;  

//public CardholderVfController(ApexPages.StandardController stdController)
    //{
        //this.c = (Case)stdController.getRecord();
        //accountList = new List<String>(new String[] {'Test1', 'Test2'});
    //}

public List<String> getAccounts()
    {
        accountList = new List<String>(new String[] {'TestAccountText1', 'TestAccountText2'});
        return this.accountList;
    }   

public List<String> getContacts()
    {
        return this.contactList;
    }

public void setAccountName(String s)
    {
        accountName = s;
    }

public String getAccountName()
    {
        return this.accountName;
    }

}

Page Markup

<apex:page controller="CardholderVfController">
<apex:form >
    <apex:pageBlock > 
    <apex:pageBlockSection >
        <apex:inputField id="accountNameField" value="{!accountName}"/>
        <apex:commandButton id="findAccount" title="Search"/>
    </apex:pageBlockSection>
            <apex:dataTable align="center" value="{!accounts}" var="a" >
                <apex:column value="{!a}"/>
            </apex:dataTable>