• 180 Points
  • Member since 2013

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
On Opportuntities we have the default "Next Steps" field, but it's not very long and we'd like to retain back history of the progress of a deal.  I've created a long text field "Sales Progress".  Here's what I'd like to do using a workflow trigger and field update:  Whenever a new entry is made in Next Steps, copy that entry over to Sales Progress and add it to the bottom (or top) of the existing text.  What would the formula look like?
Hey Everyone,

Beginner here, hoping if somebody could help me with my trigger. I'm attempting to create a new contract when a custom object is updated.

It allows me to save the trigger, but when i update the custom object I'm getting the following error:

Apex trigger AutoContract caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: AutoContract: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: Trigger.AutoContract: line 11, column 1

Here is the code i'm using:

/////////////////////////////////////////////////

trigger AutoContract on Zuora__SubscriptionProductCharge__c (After Update) {
List<Contract> listContracts= new List<Contract>();
for(Zuora__SubscriptionProductCharge__c S: Trigger.new){
Contract C= new Contract();
C.Description=S.Zuora__ProductDescription__c;
C.accountid=S.Zuora__Account__r.Id;
C.Type_of_Sale__c=S.Zuora__ProductName__c;
C.Payment_Plan__c=S.Zuora__BillingPeriod__c;
C.Contract_Total__c=S.Zuora__ExtendedAmount__c;
C.StartDate=S.Zuora__EffectiveStartDate__c;
C.Account.Name=S.Zuora__Account__r.Name;
C.User__c='00550000002TLtx';
listContracts.add(c);
}

if(listContracts.isEmpty()== false)
{Database.insert(listContracts);

}

}

//////////////////////////////////////////////////