• Member since 2018

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi,

I am trying to create an after insert trigger that would work on ContentDocument and create a new task record based on the type of ContentDocument. I have to go this route of creating trigger because Process Builder and Flows cannot be used with ContentDocument. I am a newbie to development and had given a shot in my Sandbox first. I believe the code is right because I don't see any syntax errors but it's actually not working. Can't figure out what's wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated! Below is my trigger:

trigger EmailUpload on ContentDocument (after insert) {
  List <Task> newtask = new List <Task> ();

for (ContentDocument c : Trigger.new) {

// here is where you check if content document uploaded is of MSG format
        if (c.FileExtension == 'msg') {

Task t = new Task (); //instantiate the object to put values for future record

// now assign field values to Task object that is being created
        t.Subject = 'New Email';
        t.ActivityDate = SYSTEM.TODAY();
        t.OwnerId = c.CreatedById;
        newtask.add(t);

}    //end if
    }        //end for loop

//once loop is done, insert new records in SF
    // dml operations might cause an error, so catch it with try/catch block.
    try {
        insert newtask; 
    } catch (system.Dmlexception e) {
        system.debug (e);
    }
}

Hi,

I am trying to create an after insert trigger that would work on ContentDocument and create a new task record based on the type of ContentDocument. I have to go this route of creating trigger because Process Builder and Flows cannot be used with ContentDocument. I am a newbie to development and had given a shot in my Sandbox first. I believe the code is right because I don't see any syntax errors but it's actually not working. Can't figure out what's wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated! Below is my trigger:

t.Subject = 'New Email';